A former Hebrew slave to the Editor of the Sinai Times

Those were the days.

Those were the days.

To the Editor:

I’m a former slave who spent a decade climbing my way to the top of the slave ladder. Perhaps it’s unorthodox, but I miss my life in Egypt. I know I’m just supposed to relax and enjoy myself now that we’re free, but to tell you the truth, I miss having a job, even if it was unpaid.

I appreciated having somewhere to be every day besides more sand. And I liked having my little corner of the pyramid to work on. Yes, I even liked having a taskmaster. It’s so easy to procrastinate when you’re not being whipped. I feel like I’ve hardly gotten anything done in the last 35 years or so.

Building that golden idol gave me something to put my energies into for a little while, but this Moses character seems insistent that we stop being industrious, take a break, put our feet up. I need a vacation from this vacation!

Sincerely,

Joe Son of David

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

